Remote sites are great for keeping track of remote workers, facilitating flexible hours, and working from home. Remote sites allow your mobile workforce to remotely sign in from their mobile phone and record their hours worked without appearing on your site's evacuation list.
Use Sign In App as you would do when signing into a physical site, sign in when you start and sign out when you finish. If you want to record breaks, you can sign out whilst you’re not working, just remember to sign back in!
Tip: Whilst signed into the remote site, hours will be recorded on Timesheets, but members won’t appear on the evacuation list.
Add your remote site
To add a remote site, head to Manage > Sites and then select 'Add remote site'
If you already have a remote site set-up, you will see it from the online management portal if you go to Manage > Sites:
Important: If you haven’t set-up a geofence for your other site(s), bear in mind that members will be able to Mobile sign in to the remote site, whilst on site. This could create inaccurate data and result in members not being recorded on the fire list.
To edit your remote site, click the site name where you can edit the following.
Site Details
Under the Details tab you can edit:
Site name
Advanced options - Optionally add a contact name and email address for notifications, and a site logo if required
Group visibility - Edit which groups will be able to to sign in and out of your remote site
Delete remote site - You can delete the remote site if set up in error or no longer needed. Please note this cannot be undone.
Sign in & out
Under the Sign in & out flow tab you can add various sign in/out fields as well as sign in notices such as policy reminders to acknowledge or agree to upon sign in.
You can read more about setting these up for a site here.
Companion app
To use remote sites, members will need to download Sign In App Companion to allow them to sign in and start tracking hours. You can download Companion app on your smartphone and this is available on both iOS and Android. Each member needs an authentication code to connect their Companion app to the repeat visitor.
To set permissions and send a Companion app invite for an individual, please see here.
You can also set permissions per group and send out Companion app invites in bulk. Please see here for how to do this.
Please Note: In order to use the remote site, you need to have the App permission Can sign in and out enabled for your group in the Companion tab.
Location data
When a member signs into and out of your remote site their location is recorded.
Location settings
To use Companion app to remote sign in, you need to allow Sign In App permission to access location on your phone. We need this information to check if you’re within your geofence and should be signed in to your physical site or the remote site. Sign In App only records your location when you sign in and out, there is no record of your movement in between these two points.
Important: If you see ‘Out of range’ instead of ‘Sign In’ on Companion app then it’s likely that location settings aren’t enabled for Companion app. Enable them and then try again.
We hope you've found this guide useful but if you have any questions around Remote sites or any Sign In App feature, please contact our support team at [email protected].




