Skip to main content

Google Apps Integration

Overview

Sign In App's integration with Google Apps allows you keep your organisation's users in synchronisation. Changes made in your directory to users will be automatically pulled across periodically. This means Sign In App will always be update with the latest changes in your company or school.


Requirements

  • Google Apps account

  • A user with Google Apps admin access

  • API access enabled on the Google Apps account


Getting Started

The integration to Google Apps is added at the point of creating a new repeat visitor group inside the portal. When selecting to add a new group, an option is provided to integrate with Google Apps. Once clicked, you'll be taken to Google to login and agree to the required permissions to allow access.

To do this, go to Manage > Visitor groups > New group in the portal. You'll need to name the group, and select Repeat as the group type. You will then see the option to select Google to manage your repeat group members. Select this and then Continue and you will be re-directed to Google to select your account and setup the sync.


Permissions

The required permissions are

  • Read access to users admin.directory.user.readonly

  • Read access to groups admin.directory.group.readonly

The application only reads data from the directory and does not need write access. The user access allows the application to pull down users and their profile data to be populated at point of sign in. The group access allows the application to search for certain groups and setup the synchronisation of only a subset of the users in the Google Apps directory from the configured group.


Data Recorded

The application pulls down only as much information as is needed, this includes:

  • Unique Identifier

  • Full Name

  • Job Title

  • Primary Email

  • Mobile Phone


Sync information

Once you've synced your Sign In App group with Google you can view some of the key information such as last sync date/time and any filters that have been applied. You can see this from the online management portal by going to Manage > Visitor groups > Select group > Members, the sync information is displayed directly above the group member list.

You can see this from the online management portal by going to Manage > Visitor groups > Select group > Details, you can see when the last sync was made, as well as how many members are included.

If click Manage here, it will take you to the Member directory for that synced group and display the information that is synced for each member but it will be read-only.

Tip: Sometimes the sync between Sign In App and Google can break. If this does happen, all technical contacts will be notified by email. The email includes a link to the group in the Sign In App portal, from there you can fix the broken group.

You can manage your technical contacts by going to Manage > Account Settings > Portal users, and then clicking on a contact to select them as a 'Technical contact:


Data Privacy

Sign In App's privacy policy applies to the data synchronised from the Google Apps directory. https://signinapp.com/legal/privacy/detailed

Did this answer your question?